top of page
Blog: Blog2
Zoeken
  • Mathematics Anonymous

Professional use of social media

Blizzard Entertainment

I don't really browse facebook or twitter as such, so the only companies I really follow on social media are related to my hobbies I already had. So because I was interested in their games I found the social media presence of Blizzard Entertainment.

I think companies like this are principially well suited for social media as they have a lot of visual content to show. The outlets have a clear use in that they are used for news and customer support, as well as a lot of community interaction.


What I like about the community interaction is that they know very well their specific audience, using lots of references to their games and references known in gaming culture.


I think knowing your target audience on social media very well is an important lesson we can learn from this. So if I were to decide to have a presence as a teacher online, it would be pertinent to keep up with what students in general are interested in.


NS

The only other moment in my life I feel driven to check someones twitter is ofcourse when Im waiting for a train that is delayed or worse a substitute bus. In these cases I turn to the ever optimistic twitter feed of the NS.


Like in the previous example, I like that it is clearly a very useful feed to get information about the train you are impatiently waiting for. Furthermore it then provides some more entertaining content beyond this in the form of silly answers to questions and interesting videos about public transport.


The personal and humerous way they respond to questions has left me with a good impression of their social media use. They also really tweet a lot of information about delays very quickly as they are happening.


Again on top of content that is just fun, interesting or interactive, a very clear actual use to this outlet. It is the kind of thing that draws the type of people who don't usually consume social media but are just looking for a convenient way to receive necessary information. These people then also see the other content and might enjoy it and use your platform solely for enjoyment in the future. As a teacher I could use this by organizing useful content, although I definitely think social media should not be the only way to get information.



15 weergaven1 opmerking

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Assignment 7: Podcast

De podcast: https://static.wixstatic.com/mp3/325620_e9bfbedf55e14c00be78450ba10fb6a3.mp3 Voor deze opdracht maken wij een serie podcasts. We nemen een publicatie met een intrigerende titel of een vree

Assignment 5 flyer

Voorkant: https://static.wixstatic.com/ugd/325620_ecf44bfeb0214c42baff59337652047d.pdf Achterkant:https://static.wixstatic.com/ugd/325620_fd31aa131cbd4f338fc33512dc90e02e.pdf Assignment 5: Flyer Desig

bottom of page